2012 Colorado Film Award Winners

The Colorado International Film Festival proudly congratulates its 2012 Award Winners.

Download the 2012 Official Press Release

Grand Jury Prize: Flight of Magic by Tommy G. Warren
Special Jury Prize: Take a Bow by Lu Leslan
Jury Prize: Out Living it by Michael Brown
Colorado Film Award - Platinum: Wolves Unleashed by Andrew Simpson
Colorado Film Award - Gold: Moving On by Matt Katsolis
Colorado Film Award - Silver: No Way Out But One by Garland Waller
Colorado Film Award - Bronze: The Incredible Journey of Barnaby Brickwild: A Man Destined to Marry a Woman Destined to Marry Another Man by Alex Tragedies
Best Actor: Tim O'Connor in Dreams Awake by Jerry Alden Deal
Best Actress: Lauren Holly in Masque by Robert Hatch
Best Animation: Magnetic Squirrel in Motor Home Mayhem by Patrick Mallek
Best Documentary Feature: 7 Years Underground: A 60's Tale by Jason Solomon
Best Documentary Directing: The Roots of Happiness by Frank Abella
Best Documentary Film Editing: Broomfield: Spirit of the American Dream by James Havey
Best Dramatic Directing: A Tablet of Overcoming by Matthew Griffin
Best Environmental Film: From Nomad to Nobody by Michael Buckley
Best Feature Film: If I had Wings to Fly by Bruno Seraphin
Best Short Form Directing: The Grace Of Others by Alexander Brunacci
Cinematography Award: End of the Road by J.P. Pierce
Film Editing Award: American Veterans: Discarded and Forgotten by Richard Polonetsky
First-Time Directing Award: Seven Eves by Mark Nordhagen
Music Video Award: RACE CAR by Waleed Moursi
Screenwriting Award - Feature: A.L.F. by Jerome Lescure
Screenwriting Award - Short: World on a String by Dawn Schwartz
Short Film Award:The Son of the Sea by Roberto Aznar Almazan

Feature and Short Screenplay Competitions

1st Place: Morgan St. Watch Co. written by Gur Benshemesh
2nd Place: The Last Fairy Tale Chronicles written by Dadrea Heron
3rd Place: Zack and Elvis written by Patrick Nash
4th Place: The Perfect Gentleman written by Jan Hadwen Hubbell
5th Place: Bee Tornado written by Chris Sorensen
Colorado Screenplay Award - Platinum: The Paper Route written by Danny Howell
Colorado Screenplay Award - Gold: FunHouse written by Paul Ellington
Colorado Screenplay Award - Silver: Good Intentions written by Michael Mayhall
Colorado Screenplay Award - Bronze: Shopping Mall Santa written by John Harris

Official Finalists

The Chinese Disco written by John Harris
Bare Knuckle Days written by Neil Chase
Playing Through written by John Harris
Homunculus written by Austen Brauker
Getting the Business written by Haik Hakobian
TEN TORS written by Rob Yescombe
Sacrifice The Virgin written by John Harris
Dysphoria written by Tammy Yourzek
The Transcenders written by Paul Dupree
Worm written by Keir Burrows

Honorable Mentions

Matchless! by Martin Tessmer
"SHE WILL BE MINE" by Burleigh Smith
Destiny by Elli Legerski
TWIN GRAVES by Paul Ellington
POOR MAN'S WAR by Jennifer Koon
Cory's Shirts by Rebecca L. Carpenter
The Plumber by Jeffrey Ryback
Cannin Powell by Leslie Almeida
The Other Side of Superheroes by Tyler Sexson
The Promise Breaker by Rebecca Carpenter
The Paper by Sonia Jackson
Breakfast with Pete by Niloo Ravaei
LOVEBAND by Nicola Pedrozzi
TURN THE RIGHT WAY by Jose Olivier Black Bubble by Massimo Borghi