2011 Film and Screenplay Competition Winners

The Colorado International Film Festival proudly congratulates its 2011 Award Winners.

2011 Official Press Release

Film Competition

Grand Jury Prize: Ay Lav Yu directed by Sermiyan Midyat
Special Jury Prize: Some Things are Worse than Being Gay directed by Regine Richards
Jury Prize: The Fallen Angel directed by Joe Arias
Colorado Film Award - Platinum: The Winking Boy directed by Marcus Dineen
Colorado Film Award - Gold: Return directed by Cyd Chartier Cohn
Colorado Film Award - Silver: Mother's House directed by Davis Hall
Colorado Film Award - Bronze: Animal Control directed by Kire Paputts
Best Actor: The Ballad of Sandeep directed by Derek Frey (Actor: Deep Roy)
Best Actress: Snatch 'N' Grab directed by James Christopher (Actress: Christen Mays)
Best Animation: DreamGiver directed by Tyler Carter
Best Director: Steve Bellamy for Winter
Best Documentary Feature: Freedom Fighter directed by Chris Atkins
Best Documentary Directing: Last Stand At Nymboida directed by Jeff Bird
Best Documentary Film Editing: Never Happen Here: The Whitehorse 9/11 Story directed by Max Fraser
Best Dramatic Directing: The Roe Effect directed by Kiel Scott
Best Environmental Film: The Last Wild Race directed by Brian J. Leitten
Best Feature Film: Der Sandmann directed by Peter Luisi
Best Short Form Directing: 14085 directed by Olli Koivula
Cinematography Award: The Curse of Micah Rood directed by Alec Asten
Film Editing Award: Lucky directed by Michael McCallum
First-Time Directing Award: Air directed by Keir Burrows
Music Video Award: The Bedroom Philosopher - Northcote (So Hungover) directed by Craig Melville
Screenwriting Award - Feature: Joyride directed by Katherine Randolph & Alex Petrovitch
Screenwriting Award - Short: Not Worth A Bullet directed by Markus F. Adrian
Short Film Award: Bathing & The Single Girl directed by Christine Elise McCarthy

Screenplay Competition

1st Place: "A Country of Strangers" written by Sean Armstrong
2nd Place: "The Voyeur" written by John Bengel
3rd Place: "The Great Divide" written by Carl McLaughlin
4th Place: "Ted" written by Leslie Flannery
5th Place: "Ludlow" written by Michael Pomphrey
Colorado Screenplay Award - Platinum: "On My Way" written by Drew Repp
Colorado Screenplay Award - Gold: "Sunset Fire" written by Rick Brandelli & A. Wayne Carter
Colorado Screenplay Award - Silver: "Halfway Home" written by David Schroeder
Colorado Screenplay Award - Bronze: "Chances" written by Jeff Trently & Anthony Stitt

Official Finalists

"Best Before" written by Romi Moondi
"Black Rock" written by Daniel Kay
"Cypress Gardens" written by Donna Musil
"Fin Chaser" written by Maria Cozzi
"Follow the Leader" written by Sean Armstrong
"High Sierra" written by Brian Bose
"Northamptonshire" written by Colleen Baird
"Snow Advisory" written by Lisa Beuk
"The Enlightenment of Swaroop Jones" written by Drew Freeman
"The Gambler" written by Ignacio Quijada

Honorable Mentions

"Ceduna" written by Mathew Wilkinson
"Chasing Bugs" written by Debbra Jansen
"Devotion" written by Matteo Galante
"How I Graduated From Berkeley In Two Years" written by Angelica Kalika
"Lessons from Violet" written by Allen Wolf
"Nirvana Road" written by Michael Hilow
"Nocturnal Creatures" written by James Zorn
"Pot Shop" written by Judah Ray Neiditch
"Red Smoke Rising" written by Rick Anthony
"Responsibility" written by Kameron Joshua Copeland
"Shadowboxing the Mob" written by Lou Buttino
"The Journal" written by Braide Keyland
"The Legend of McCoy Mountain & The Gold 45 Revolver" written by Elliot McGucken
"The Last Day of Rain" written by Noel Qualter
"The Way the Ball Bounces" written by Gregory Heitmann